Reporting a Boating Accident

As the operator of a vessel, you are required by law to file a formal, written report of
your boating accident with the Department of Wildlife Resources under certain
circumstances.

When a Report is Required

A formal, written report must be filed with Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
when there is:

- damage over $2000 by or to the vessel or its equipment;
« injury (requiring medical help beyond first aid) or loss of life; and/or
disappearance of any person on board a vessel.

Failure to report boating accidents as specified above shall be punishable as a Class 4
Misdemeanor. When a person dies or disappears as a result of an occurrence that
involves a vessel or its equipment, the operator is required by law to notify the
Department of Wildlife Resources in Henrico, Virginia, or the most

immediately available Department Conservation Police Officer without delay and by the
quickest means possible.

Time Frame for Reporting

Reports must be filed within the following time frames from the boating accident:

. 48 hours if there is loss of life within 24 hours of the accident;
- 48 hours if a person involved is injured and cannot perform usual activities;
48 hours if a person disappears;
. 10 days if an earlier report is not required but becomes necessary; and/or
. 10 days if the boat or property damage is in excess of $2000 or total boat loss.



How to Report an Accident

Boating Accident Report Forms can be obtained from this Web site, local law
enforcement authorities, Department Conservation Police Officers, and all Department
offices. You may submit the completed forms in person or send them to:

Boating Accident - Boating Safety Section
Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources
P.O. Box 90778

Henrico, VA 23228

The boat operator or owner usually completes the form unless she/he is physically
unable to do so.

Call the Law Enforcement Division at the Department of Wildlife Resources if
you have difficulty completing an accident report form (Central Office in Richmond,
804-367-1000).

To report an accident that has just occurred, please contact the Department of
Wildlife Resources Dispatch Section at (804) 367-1000. A Conservation
Police Officer will be dispatched to the scene to investigate the accident.

Why Report an Accident

Reporting boating accidents is required by law in the specific situations mentioned (see
“When a Report is Required®). The information you submit is used to determine safer
boating practices which are then shared with the boating public, boat manufacturers and
equipment manufacturers. The details you provide may prevent another boater from
having a similar accident. Thank you for your cooperation with the law and in helping
others.

Duty to Stop and Render Assistance

It is the duty of every operator involved in a collision to stop and offer assistance.
Operators involved in a collision who knowingly fail to comply with this law when the
collision or accident results in serious bodily injury to, or the death of, any person, shall
be guilty of a Class 6 Felony. When the collision or accident results in only property
damage, the operator who does not comply with this law shall be guilty of a Class 1
Misdemeanor. Damage of less than $50 to an unattended vessel is punishable by a
maximum $50 fine.



Y Virginia Boating Incident Report For Office Use:
acviell Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources Year:
7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, PO Box 90778, Henrico, VA 23228 Date Received:

The operator/owner of a vessel used for recreational purposes is required to file a report in writing whenever
an accident results in: * loss of life or disappearance; * An injury which requires medical treatment beyond first aid; * Property damage in
excess of $2,000 or total loss of vessel.

Complete All Blocks (indicate those not applicable by "NA")

BOAT OWNER AND OPERATOR INFORMATION

OPERATOR NAME: | | DATE OF BIRTH:|
OPERATOR ADDRESS: OPERATOR'S EXPERIENCE |SAFETY INSTRUCTION
This Type of Boat: Other Boating Experience: " State Classroom
—_ Under 20 Hours " Under 20 Hours " Internet
T 20-100 Hours .1 20-100 Hours 1 USCG Aux
OPERATOR PHONE: | 100 - 500 Hours ™ 100 - 500 Hours I USPS
—_ Over 500 Hours " Over 500 Hours " None
" Other (specify)
OWNER NAME: RENTED BOAT? " Yes
OWNER ADDRESS: " No

VESSEL INFORMATION - VESSEL #1 (THIS VESSEL)

REGISTRATION NUMBER: MAKE:l MODEL:l | YEAR:
BOAT NAME MFR HULL ID NO:
BOAT LENGTH (FT) DEPTH FROM TRANSOM TO KEEL |
BEAM OF BOAT (FT) HORSEPOWER | |
TYPE OF BOAT HULL MATERIAL PROPULSION ENGINE DRIVE FUEL
" Air Boat . Paddlecraft _ Aluminum 1 Air Thrust " Inboard " Electric
" Auxiliary Sail " Personal Watercraft | Fiberglass " Manual " Outboard " Diesel
" Cabin Motorboat " Pontoon Boat _ Plastic __ Propeller —_ Pod Drive — Gas
" Houseboat . Rowboat " Rubber/Vinyl/Canvas L. Sail " Sterndrive . Other
" Inflatable Boat —_ Sail Only __ Steel —_ Water Jet (inboard/outboard)
. Open Motorboat " Other " Wood " Other " Other

| |Z other | | | |

ACCIDENT DATA
DATE OF ACCIDENT |T||V|E OF ACCIDENT | COUNTY:l STATE:l
BODY OF WATER [LOCATION Latitude Longitude
NEAREST CITY OR TOWN: | Est Air Temp:| Est. Water Temp:
WEATHER FORECAST AVAILABLE TO AND WEATHER REPORTS USED BY OPERATOR BEFORE AND DURING USE (Yes/No):
WEATHER: WATER CONDITIONS: VISIBILITY
" Clear . Rain " Calm (waves less then 6") Day Night
" Cloudy ~_ Snow __ Choppy (waves 6" - 2') . Good .
" Fog " Hazy " Rough (waves 2'-6') " Fair o
" Very Rough (greater than 6') " Poor o
. Strong Current

OPERATION AT TIME OF ACCIDENT NUMBER OF PEOPLE ONBOARD VESSEL: FIRE EXTINGUISHERS:
" Cruising NUMBER OF PEOPLE BEING TOWED (IF ANY): Number Used:
: Drifting NUMBER OF WEARABLE LIFE JACKETS ONBOARD:
" Fishing NUMBER OF WEARABLE LIFE JACKETS WORN: Type:
: Hunting NUMBER OF THROWABLE LIFE JACKETS ONBOARD:
T Skiing/Towed Sports NUMBER OF THROWABLE LIFE JACKETS USED:
" Racing

T Other |




ACCIDENT DESCRIPTION - INCLUDE ANY FAILURE OF EQUIPMENT THAT MAY HAVE CONTRIBUTED; INFORMATION ABOUT WHAT CAUSED
THE ACCIDENT; INFORMATION REGARDING THE INVOLVEMENT OF ALCOHOL AND/OR DRUGS; ANY INFORMATION ABOUT THE USE OF LIFE
JACKETS; DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY AND VESSEL DAMAGE (attached additional sheets if necessary):

DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY DAMAGE OR VESSEL DAMAGE:

VESSEL DAMAGE ESTIMATE AMOUNT: |
NAME AND ADDRESS OF EACH OWNER OF PROPERTY INVOLVED (USE ADDITIONAL SHEETS IF NECESSARY):

| PROPERTY DAMAGE ESTIMATE AMOUNT:l

DECEASED (if more than 2, attached additional forms)

NAME:

WAS VICTIM

ADDRESS:

M .
., Swimmer
" Non-Swimmer

DATE OF BIRTH:

NAME:

WAS VICTIM

ADDRESS:

M .
., Swimmer
" Non-Swimmer

DATE OF BIRTH: |

DEATH CAUSED BY:
. Drowning

. Other (specify) |

M .
., Disappearance

DEATH CAUSED BY:
. Drowning

. Other (specify) |

M .
., Disappearance

WAS LIFE JACKET WORN:
" Yes
"No

WAS LIFE JACKET WORN:
" Yes
"No

INJURED (if more than 2, attached additional forms)

NAME:

WAS VICTIM

ADDRESS:

M .
., Swimmer
" Non-Swimmer

DATE OF BIRTH

NAME:

WAS VICTIM

ADDRESS:

M .
., Swimmer
" Non-Swimmer

DATE OF BIRTH |

NATURE AND EXTENT OF INJURY:

(]

(]

Medical Treatment _.Yes _, No
NATURE AND EXTENT OF INJURY:
Medical Treatment " Yes "No

[

[

WAS LIFE JACKET WORN:
Yes
No

—/

[
—/

[

WAS LIFE JACKET WORN:
" Yes
No

[
—/

[

VESSEL NO. 2 (if more than 2 vessels, attach additional forms)

NUMBER OF PEOPLE ONBOARD:

SIGNATURE:

REGISTRATION NUMBER: VESSEL NAME: |NUMBER OF PEOPLE TOWED:
OWNER NAME: OWNER ADDRESS:

OPERATOR NAME: OPERATOR ADDRESS:

WITNESSES

NAME: ADDRESS: PHONE:

NAME: ADDRESS: PHONE:
PERSON COMPLETING REPORT

NAME: | |ADDRESS: | [PHONE: |

Effective 7/1/2020
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